Karma

Meet the Self-contained Karma Economy!

"Today me, tomorrow thee!"

Loosely inspired by karma in Indian tradition, we have worked towards formalizing the notion of "give-and-take" in automated resource allocation systems. One day you incur a delay in traffic to let someone with higher urgency arrive on time, for that you gain karma. The next day it becomes your turn to take advantage of fast service , so you spend karma. Such a system gives fair access to shared resources meanwhile serving those who are most in need.

Publication - Slides - Blog Post

Experience karma for yourself!

Interactive karma game coming soon.

Karma: An Experimental Study

Ezzat Elokda, Heinrcih Nax, Saverio Bolognani, Florian Dörfler

Preprint

Applications

Traffic

CARMA: Fair and Efficient Bottleneck Congestion Management via Non-tradable Karma Credits

Ezzat Elokda, Carlo Cenedese, Kenan Zhang, Andrea Censi, John Lygeros, Emilio Frazzoli, Florian Dörfler

Transportation Science, 2024 (accepted, minor revision)

Preprint

Data Networks

Coming soon

Energy

Coming soon

Crypto-governance

Coming soon

Meet the Karma Collaborators!

First Paper: Today Me, Tomorrow Thee: Efficient Resource Allocation in Competitive Settings using Karma Games

Andrea Censi, Saverio Bolognani, Julian G. Zilly, Shima S. Mousavi, Emilio Frazzoli

IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Conference (ITSC), 2019

10.1109/ITSC.2019.8916911 - Preprint

Institute for Dynamic Systems and Control

ETH Zurich

acensi@ethz.ch

Automatic Control Laboratory

ETH Zurich

bsaverio@ethz.ch

Institute for Dynamic Systems and Control

ETH Zurich

efrazzoli@ethz.ch

Automatic Control Laboratory

ETH Zurich

floriand@ethz.ch

Automatic Control Laboratory

ETH Zurich

ccenedese@ethz.ch

Laboratory for Human-Oriented Mobility Eco-System

EPFL

kenan.zhang@epfl.ch

Department of Sociology

University of Zurich

nax@soziologie.uzh.ch